• The Olympic Class Skiff
    The 49er is the two person one-design skiff which has transformed competitive dinghy sailing offering performance, excitement and spectacle, previously only found in 18 footers, together with the unmatched ferocity of competition only generated in Olympic fleets.
    Designed by Julian Bethwaite, the ultra light, slender hull offers minimal resistance with no noticeable speed hump. This means the 49er smoothly accelerates onto the plane and the speed just goes on rising.
    The most remarkable feature of the 49er at first sight is the solid wings which make the boat safe and a joy to sail. Running from wing to wing is easy helping newcomers quickly climb the "skiff learning curve".
  • Gust response designed to make effective control of large sailing
    Trapezing from these wide wings, the crew members generate a massive righting moment to control the power from the huge sail area, and continue accelerating the boat. The enormous sail area means that the 49er is fully powered up in about 8 knots of breeze. The flexible composite top mast gives effective gust response above this wind speed, making control of such a large rig possible. The high boom means there is plenty of room to move around the boat, whilst a self-tacking jib frees the crew is to concentrate on playing the mainsail upwind and the asymmetric spinnaker downwind. The short foot on the spinnaker and radical new style of cut means the sheet loads are kept to a minimum, allowing many shapes and sizes of crews to sail the boat effectively.

    International Events
    • The Olympics Games
    • 49er Championships
  • Specifications
    Designer Julian Bethwaite Area Spinnaker 50.0sqm
    Length 4.995m (16'4") Hull Weight 80kg (176lb)
    Beam 2.4m (7'9") Sailing Weight 120kg (265lb)
    Draft 1.4m (4'6") No. of Crew (total) 2
    Spinnaker Pole Length 1.2m (3'9") No. of crew on Trapeze 2
    Mast Height 7.0m (22'10") Minimum Crew Weight 135kg (298lb)
    Area Mainsail 20.0sqm Maximum Crew Weight 170kg (375lb)
    Area Jib 5.0sqm

• 奥运会帆船比赛级别
    49人级为两人帆船设计,能够提供高性能、刺激、让人惊叹的帆船竞技体验,外加无以伦比的奥运会比赛级别的惊险激烈,而在这之前只有18英尺帆船能够达到相同的性能。
    由帆船设计师Julian Bethwaite先生设计,49人级拥有细长的流线型设计,并且十分轻便,在航行中能够使阻力降至最低,几乎察觉不到阻力造成的减速。这意味着49人级可以轻而易举地加速至平面,并且可以持续加速。
    49人级最大的特点就是采用了较为坚固的船翼,使得航行更加安全、充满乐趣。从一侧船翼移动到另外一侧十分简单,新手也能够快速的完成"帆船学习曲线"。 吊于这些宽大的船翼之上,船员可以拥有足够的时间控制帆所产生的力量,从而继续加速帆船。49人级拥有大型帆区,在风速8节的情况下就可以全速航行。
  • 阵风反应设计,使大型风帆得到有效控制
    柔韧性很好的复合上桅在8节以上的风速中就可以产生有效的阵风反应,使得大型风帆可以得到控制。下桁较高,使得在船上的活动更加自如,可自动转变航向的艏三角帆使得船员可以集中注意力在逆风时操纵主帆,或在顺风时操纵不对称大三角帆。大三角帆的短帆脚及新型剪裁使得帆的负重降至最低,使得不同体型的船员都可以很好地进行驾驶。

    国际赛事
    • 奥运会
    • 49人级锦标赛
  • 技术规格
    设计师 Julian Bethwaite 大三角帆面积 50.0sqm
    长度 4.995m (16'4") 船体重量 80kg (176lb)
    宽度 2.4m (7'9") 航行中重量 120kg (265lb)
    吃水 1.4m (4'6") 总船员人数 2
    大三角帆杆长度 1.2m (3'9") 吊带上船员人数 2
    桅杆高度 7.0m (22'10") 最小船员重量 135kg (298lb)
    主帆面积 20.0sqm 最大船员重量 170kg (375lb)
    艏三角帆面积 5.0sqm